Thursday, November 5, 2015

Ombudsman axes 3 Mindanao mayors, 27 officials

DAVAO CITY--- The Office of the Ombudsman has meted out the penalty of dismissal from service three mayors and 27 other local officials all over Mindanao.

In a press conference held in the office of the Deputy Ombudsman Mindanao in Davao City today (November 5) the said officials were dismissed for various offenses like Grave Misconduct, Serious Dishonesty, Gross Neglect of Duty and Conduct Prejudicial to the Best Interest of the Service.

The three mayors include current Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar Moreno, Mayor Vicente Fernandez of Matanao, Davao del Sur and Mayor Mamintal Adiong of Ditsa-an Ramain, Lanao del Sur.

The penalty of dismissal also carries with it the punishment of being perpetually barred from holding public office.

Mayor Moreno was found to have committed grave misconduct for entering into a settlement agreement with Ajinomoto Philippines without prior authorization from the city council in violation of the Local Government Code. The agreement allowed Ajinomoto to pay P300,000 instead of the local business tax deficiency of P2.9 million.

The court approved the agreement however the decision of Ombudsman Conchita Carpio Morales dated October 6 stated that the court cannot legitimize the violation of the City Mayor and the OIC Treasurer Glenn Banez who is also one of the dismissed.

Mayor Fernandez was also dismissed from service for discharging his functions as Mayor even he is being detained. Fernandez is in detention while facing criminal charges for the murder of a journalist.
Mayor Adiong was found guilty of Grave Abuse of Authority, Grave Misconduct and Oppression for ordering of a truck which was contracted to install concrete electric posts and distribution lines in his town.

Atty. Gil Norman Ciudadano of the Office of the Ombudsman said the decision of the Ombudsman is already executory. Respondents are given five days from receipt of the decision to file a motion for reconsideration.

Aside from the dismissed government officials, 37 other officials has been charged in court for various charges ranging from violation of the RA 3019 (Anti-Graft and Corrupt Practices Act), malversation, failure to liquidate cash advances and irregularities in the procurement process among many other offenses.

These officials include former Cagayan de Oro Mayor Vicente Emano, Tandag City Mayor Alexander Pimentel and Mayor Diosdado Pallasigue of Isulan, Sultan Kudarat. (PIA/RG Alama)

No comments:

Post a Comment