Thursday, May 28, 2015

Pres. Aquino appoints members of National Anti-Poverty Commission

Malacañang on Wednesday (May 27) announced the appointment of 12 members of the National Anti-Poverty Commission (NAPC).

Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte said the appointment papers of the NAPC members were signed by President Benigno S. Aquino III last May 5.

Appointed were Jocelyn Rosemarie Cris Garcia, representing persons with disabilities; Rosalina Funtanares, representing workers in the informal sector; Celia Matea Flor, representing women; Eduardo Mora, representing farmers and landless rural workers; Deonato Mokudef, representing the indigenous cultural communities and indigenous peoples; Josh Cezar Serilo, representing children; Salvacion Basiano, representing senior citizens; Noel Cano, representing the urban poor; Edwin Bustillos, representing workers in the formal sector and migrant workers; Ruperto Aleroza, representing artisanal fisherfolk; Paul Richard Paraguya, representing non-government organizations; and Gadwin Handumon, representing cooperatives.

The NAPC is committed to reduce poverty by institutionalizing basic sector participation in governance and coordinating the poverty reduction effort of the government and the private sector. It derives its mandate from Republic Act 8425, also known as the Social Reform and Poverty Alleviation Act of 1997. (PCOO News Release)

No comments:

Post a Comment